NCCA Awards

Please send all information for your nomination to Angela Brooks-Livingston, Awards Committee chair, at [email protected]. The deadline for submissions is November 30, 2023.

  • The Ella Stephens Barrett Award for excellence in professional leadership is the most coveted honor bestowed by NCCA. This award honors the memory of Miss Ella Stephens Barrett, former state supervisor of Guidance Services, and recognizes an NCCA member who has displayed outstanding leadership in the improvement and enhancement of the counseling profession. 
  • The Don C. Locke Multicultural & Social Justice Award honors the memory and legacy of Dr. Don C. Locke, Distinguished Professor Emeritus at NC State, by recognizing an active NCCA member who is a champion for diversity that has made significant contributions to enhancing multicultural and social justice within and beyond the counseling profession. 
  • The Jane E. Myers Wellness Counseling Award honors the memory of Dr. Myers, former Counselor Educator at UNCG and Executive Director of Chi Sigma Iota, by recognizing an NCCA member who has encouraged clients to increase their holistic wellness through counseling practice and/or research that incorporates an evidence-based wellness model. 
  • The Innovation/Creativity in Counseling Award recognizes unusual, exemplary achievement by members. This award could be given for activities such as new program development, use of special talents or unusual approaches to meet the needs of clients and other audiences. 
  • The Professional Writing and/or Research Award recognizes a member who has contributed to the profession through significant writing and/or research. 
  • The Beginning Counselor Award has been established to recognize counselors who in their first two years of practice have shown unusual skill and promise of outstanding future accomplishments. 
  • The Devoted Service Award recognizes a member who has provided leadership and service to NCCA and to the counseling field well beyond the typical involvement in voluntary leadership positions in a professional organization. 
  • The Administrator of the Year Award is designed to recognize someone who has advanced or given support to the philosophy and objectives of one or more of the helping professions. The term administrator is defined as anyone employed in a supervisory or administrative position in an educational or service rendering agency. 
  • The Special Citizen’s Merit Award recognizes citizens, legislators, members of other professions or others who have made substantial contribution to the helping professions, or have shown exceptional leadership in endeavors, which significantly improve conditions for clients or citizens in North Carolina. 

Division Recognition Awards

  • Most Improved Division – Recognize divisions who have worked to make their group more active. This activity might involve appointing officers, planning a conference or drive-in workshop, starting a newsletter, etc. 
  • Most Effective Membership Drive/Recruitment – Recognize divisions who have increased or maintained their membership through creative, effective membership recruitment plans (i.e., incentives, benefits, etc.). 

Rules for Nominations

  • In the email nomination, please state the nominee’s name and why the person deserves the award. Nominator’s name and contact information need to be included as well. 
  • Other materials you may submit include a cover letter by the nominator explaining in greater detail the reasons for the nomination, vita, news releases, additional letters, and other supporting information.
  • Nominations must be made by members of NCCA.
  • Nominees must be members of NCCA. Exemptions to this requirement may be the Administrator of the Year and Special Citizen’s Merit Award.
  • Members may self-nominate.
  • The Awards Committee suggests that the nomination be kept confidential. Award winners will not be announced or notified before the conference, but nominators will be contacted so that they can encourage the winners to attend the conference.
  • Nominations for the Professional Writing and/or Research Award must be accompanied by a copy of the publication in which the materials appeared.

Please send all information for your nomination to Angela Brooks-Livingston, Awards Committee chair, at [email protected].

The deadline for submissions is November 30, 2023.